The C word…. Christmas πŸŽ„And Souvlaki Wraps πŸ˜‹

I bought my first ‘bits’ towards Christmas, during my normal weekly food shop at Aldi, I bought 10 advent calendars, plus 4 bags of sugar and 2 bottles of squash, the last 2 items was what they were asking for on their website. Β I can’t take credit for the advent calendar idea, a lovely lady who contributes to the forums on does this, I thought it was such a nice idea to give a little piece of happiness to the children of families having a tough time – thank you BB πŸ‘


I now have 12 days off of work, so wanted to start writing lists for Christmas. I am not spending the usual mad amount on my kids, after all they aren’t kids anymore. Hubby and I will get each other small gifts.Β I try and buy want thing they ‘want’, one thing they ‘need’, plus a few tiny fun things to open.

I am planning all sorts of Homemade food gifts, so whatch this space πŸ‘

Dinner tonight, is another quick throw together, chicken souvlaki and salad wraps πŸ€—


I marinate some skinless, boneless chicken in olive oil, garlic, lemon juice and dried oregano for at least a couple of hours. Then griddle till golden and fully cooked through, I also added some red pepper as there was a sad one in the fridge 😞

I also made a dressing of Greek yoghurt, and Home made sweet chilli sauce.


Served in tortillas, as I have some that need using, baby gem lettuce for crunch, and some finely sliced red onion ‘pickled’ in red wine vinegar and a pinch of sugar.


I will make some Greek style Potato wedges, as Aldi have their baking potatoes in the Super 6 (49p) – roasted with Oregano olive oil and lemon juice – Yummy πŸ˜‹ I cook the potatoes for 10 minutes in the microwave, cut into wedges, shake into a bag with the oil mix and cook for 30 minutes in a preheated oven at 180.


A tasty meal with not a lot of effort, and not too expensive πŸ€—


Author: emptynestfulltum

Hi - I'm a 49 yo Mum to 3 kids - Jordan (23), Grace (21) and Max (19). And Wife to my lovely Husband, Dave and step mum to 4 fur babies, our cats Eric, Ernie, Cilla and Bobbie. We live on the beautiful Isle of Wight, Hubby and I were born here, and just love our home. As I hurtle towards 50, my life as a full time (working) parent is coming to an end, with my eldest 2 kids living their own lives, and my youngest who started University in September. I realised that this is not a time to be sad, but a time to take time to spend time on some of the things I enjoy doing - mainly cooking, crafting and creating Pinterest boards for said thing s :) This blog is just a way for me to record the next stages of our lives - I hope you enjoy my ramblings...

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s